There’s nothing even scarier than a late period. Do you agree, sisters? Right now I’m having mine and it sucks so bad for when I wake up in the middle of the night the bed sheets get soaked and I have to change my pad and panties twice. At first, I thought I was sick, but according to my gyno, she said it’s because one of my ovaries was removed when I was 12 years old. YES. Too young, isn’t it?

“Many women, especially young women, have irregular periods. After getting your first period, it can take a few years for them to become regular,” explains Dr. Vanessa Cullins, vice president of external medical affairs at Planned Parenthood.

Here are some more reasons your period may be delayed. Read on and you’ll never have to worry again.

 

Stress.               Stress and strong emotions always affect your menstrual cycle. I’m still a virgin though so no need for all those long tests. Last time I skipped it due to stress was last summer when I got called to the office for that case of cyber bullying talked about.

 

Thyroid imbalance.            I take medicine for hyperthyroidism every day as to avoid gaining weight thus more health risks. Thank God we saw different doctors recently for I wouldn’t have lost this much weight if not for them and of course my medicine dosages.

 

Birth control.                        “All birth control methods that release a hormone or hormones can affect the timing and regularity of your period (including the hormonal IUD, implant, shot, pill, patch, and ring). In fact, many women who have irregular or very painful periods use hormonal birth control to make their periods lighter, more regular, and more manageable,” says Dr. Cullins. For safety purposes, it’s still best to take a pregnancy test though.

 

 

Leave a Reply

